Gluten Sensitivity

Although not everyone is gluten sensitive, this does affect a large percentage of our population. I also want to be very clear that gluten sensitivity does not necessarily suggest that you have Celiac disease as you may be gluten intolerant without being assessed with Celiac disease.

Eating gluten free means avoiding all foods containing gluten; including wheat, rye, spelt, bulgar, semolina, couscous, triticale, and durum flour. Gluten can also be hidden in so many of the foods we eat so you also have to be very careful with reading labels. Be wary of modified food starch, dextrin, flavorings and extracts, hydrolyzed vegetable protein, imitation seafood, and creamed products such as soups, stews and sauces.

Some grains and starchy foods that are gluten free would include amaranth, arrowroot, buckwheat, corn, millet, potato, quinoa and rice. Oats are tolerated by most gluten sensitive individuals but not by all so you may have to experiment with oats.

I will share that I have seen many significant positive shifts in client’s health through the years solely by eliminating gluten from their diet. You could be the next success story!

To help assess your likelihood of gluten sensitivity I have provided a link below for you to print out a simple, yet effective, tool to assess this challenge. If you are somewhat to very likely gluten sensitive according to this questionnaire I would first suggest making a commitment to a minimum of 60 days completely gluten free. I have also provided a list of foods for you that contain gluten as well as gluten free to aid in creating this shift for yourself.

Wellness for the World,
Glen Depke